Toribash
Original Post
Overclocking CPU
I got a Corsair H50 watercooling system now instead of the cruddy OEM fan. Originally the overheating message kept popping up due to the crappiness of the OEM fan, which is why I got this one. After reading a couple of reviews on how well it performs, I was thinking that I probably have enough room to OC.

However, I've never done this before and from tutorial videos, it seems like a risky business. So if anyone here has had experience on how to do this, that'd be greatly appreciated. Maybe some good sites to start at would help too.
I'm using the Q8300, Intel Core 2 Quad Core.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Gimp is Pimp(tm)

DarkJak's Wide-Range Texture Shop[LINK]

Incognito - [o]
If you don't know what you're doing, don't do it. A Core 2 Quad is an expensive core to go to waste.

Better safe then sorry.
i've never overclocked CPU ,but i've heard that overcloking intel cpu's VERY RISKY and amd littlebit safer =]
It depends on how much you want to O/C it.My old Duron originally ran at 1.6GHz but I overclocked it to 1.8GHz and it didn`t have any problem.

But since your CPU is way more expensive than the Duron I suggest not to O/C it.
Proud member of [Pandora]
Yeah I googled a bit and apparently it doesn't overclock well. Thanks for the warning, cuz I was thinking about getting that extra....3% xD
But that's not worth the risk.

In most benchmarks, I'm limited by the CPU, which is why.

I'm enjoying my watercooled system though. It brought temps down from 60+ degrees to 45-48
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Gimp is Pimp(tm)

Incognito - [o]
Even 45-48 degrees is ridiculous, you need better airflow in your case. You can at least get that to 3.0ghz EASILY, provided you're using a not-shitty case.